Welcome! The site where you can get all of your sailing news, from grassroots to Grand Prix. Stay In Phase!

Match Racing

Canfield undefeated at Congressional Cup on Day 1

The 56th Congressional Cup is underway, with 10 of the world’s top match racing teams competing in stellar conditions off the Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier here today. This world-class event, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club and part of the World Match Racing Tour, runs through Sunday Sept. 19.

In the opening day of round robin racing – where teams duel two-by-two – Taylor Canfield (USA) ended the day undefeated; followed by Johnie Berntsson (SWE) 5-2 – his fiery performance matched by his blazing-orange crew shirts.

Congressional Cup, Day 1, 15th September 2021, Long Beach Yacht Club, Long Beach, CA.

Canfield is the reigning Match Racing World Champion and a four-time Congressional Cup winner. His victories in 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2018 put him in an auspicious position: tied for the most Congressional Cup wins with four other skippers: Ian Williams (2011, 2012, 2017 and 2019); Gavin Brady (1996, 1997, 2006, 2008); Peter Holmberg (1998, 1999, 2001, 2002); and Rod Davis (1981, 1985, 1989, 1993). The USVI native has his eye on a fifth victory – which would make him the winningest skipper in more than a half-century of Congressional Cup racing.

Congressional Cup, Day 1, 15th September 2021, Long Beach Yacht Club, Long Beach, CA.

But a lot can happen over the next four days of racing, with the world’s number-one ranked match racing skipper Eric Monnin (SUI) and Maxime Mesnil (FRA), #4, in the mix; plus Chris Poole (USA) – right off a win in the Oakcliff International Regatta; Sam Gilmour (AUS); Dustin Durant (USA); and Ficker Cup’s tuned-up trio of qualifiers Emil Kjaer (DEN), Jeffrey Petersen (USA) and David Wood (USA).

The Congressional Cup has been one of the leading yacht racing events in the world since 1965. LBYC, spearheaded by the late William Dalessi, pitched the concept of a premier level regatta. When a California Congressman and Senator offered to sponsor the event, it was dubbed the Congressional Cup.

Congressional Cup 2021 – Photo: Ian Roman / WMRT

The stunning trophy – a three-foot tall, sterling masterpiece – was designed and created in a joint effort by Dalessi and trophy artisan Ralph Egleston of Long Beach. Egleston hand-engraved the Congressional Seal and the nameplate so the large, hand-wrought silver vessel would have instant recognition and significance. It has been sought-after by sailors, world-wide even since.

The first Congressional Cup regatta took place in 1965 with seven area skippers, Larchmont Yacht Club’s Arthur Knapp Jr., and one entrant from Long Beach Yacht Club. Dalessi believed, as host, LBYC should always have an entry in the event – and even as the Congressional Cup expanded over the years into a world-class Grade One regatta, and part of the World Match Racing Tour, the organization has honored that tradition.

This year’s LBYC entry is Durant – who stepped in when fellow member Scott Dickson was forced to drop out, unable to return to the States due to pandemic protocol.

Durant, nicknamed ‘Dusty,’ is a three-time Congressional Cup veteran, and last raced in the regatta in 2015 – but ‘dusted off his sailing gloves’ to represent his home club. Durant was the only competitor shut out today, but expectations are high for tomorrow.

Results after Day 1


Full Results


Virtual spectators can enjoy live streaming race action on the official Facebook page at @CongressionalCup.




Related posts
Match Racing

Dates set for 57th Congressional Cup

Match Racing

Stars+Stripes Team USA win Congressional Cup

Match RacingYouth

Shaking it up for Semis at Congressional Cup: Poole, Berntsson, Monnin & Canfield

Match RacingYouth

Congressional Cup 2021: Dynamic Day 2